Cristiano Ronaldo wins FIFA Best Men’s Player award

Cristiano Ronaldo beats Barcelona’s Lionel Messi and Atletico Madrid’s Antoine Griezmann to win the FIFA Best Men’s Player award on Monday evening, 9th of January 2017.

Cristiano Ronaldo wins FIFA Best Men's Player award

Vote summary

Ronaldo  =  34.54 percent of total votes  (First)

Messi  =  26.42 percent of total votes   (Second)

Griezmann  =  7.53 of total percent votes   (Third)


Ronaldo also won the Ballon d’Or in December, 2016 with both honours coming as recognition for success in the Champions League with Real and Euro 2016 with Portugal.

“Wow. It’s incredible. It’s not the first time but this award is the first time,” Ronaldo said upon being presented with the award by FIFA president Gianni Infantino in Zurich.

“I want first to thank my team-mates, my coach. I want to thank my family, my whole staff. I tell you, 2016 was the best year of my career. I had a lot of doubts but the trophy showed that I lived up to that.

“After I won what I did, I had no doubts. It was a year that was magnificent on a personal level, on a sports level. I would like to thank very warmly everybody who voted for me. To the fans, to the other players, to the media – thank you.”

Those voted for this category of award are as follow: Each of FIFA’s 211 nations comprising the national team captain, manager, a journalist from every FIFA nation, and fans registered on for a player’s performances from November 20, 2015 to November 22, 2016.


Originally posted 2017-01-10 01:51:38.

READ  My age is just a number - Cristiano Ronaldo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *